System of Sanatan Chakra

The knowledge and system of Sanatan Chakras are on the one hand very complicated but on the other hand very easy to follow when one knows about them.
In Hinduism, there are different esoteric traditions and they mentioned numerous numbers and arrangements of chakras. However, in Sanatan system there are seven most prevalent chakras. This system of seven-chakras is the most important part or theme of the core texts of Hindu ‘Hatha’ yoga. This system and arrangement are also one of the many systems found in Hindu tantric literature.
According to Hindu ‘yogic’ philosophy, ‘chakras’, pronounced as ‘chuhk-ruhs’ and generally translated as ‘circle’ or ‘wheel’, refers to the most important and central positions where the subtle and vital energy channels, popularly known as ‘nadis’ come together and unite. It is believed that they run along the length of the spine in the body, from pelvic base to the top of the head.
There is plenty of information and literature on this subject. Now it is very popular and almost a mainstream topic of life. In India, so many yoga teachers and yoga acharyas model their discourses and preaching on these vital energy centres. Now, this theme has attracted foreign writers. A celebrated teacher of the chakra system, Anodea Judith, wrote an accepted and popular book titled, ‘Chakra Balancing’. It is decorating almost every yoga institution. Now even fashion designers have created chakra-themed jewellery, clothing, perfumes, beauty products and other outfits. Understanding and perfection about these vital energy and power centres empower the human beings on a deeper and multidimensional l plane. For understanding the chakras we must surrender to ourselves to self.
So it is very important to take a closer and deeper study at them. Yoga gurus and Sanatan acharyas have found seven main chakras.
1- Muladhara (the Root Chakra)
Muladhara, means, “root support.” This is located at the base of the spine. It is often illustrated as a red four-petal lotus and it is connected to the earth element. Muladhara creates and governs the four main urges: food, sleep, sex, and self-preservation. This chakra is the baseline of functional and worldly relationships and desires. It creates a feeling of safety.
Root Chakra Statement: “I am attached to the earth. I am sturdy and firm.”
Yoga practices for connecting with this energy centre:
-root lock
-the yamas and niyamas
-asanas strengthen the feet, legs, and pelvic base.
The first chakra meeting means being cared and loved. Meeting someone in this chakra means caring for someone’s needs. Its vigorous function helps us sustain a sense of realism and inner strength.
2- Svadhisthana (the Sacral Chakra)
Svadhisthana (literally means, “her own abode”) is placed at the pelvis. It is regularly illustrated as an orange lotus with six petals, and it’s related to the water element—fluidity, emotions, creativity, adaptability, sexual power, and the unconscious state of mind. The second chakra’s active function is to facilitate us control our desires and emotions, so as not to be obsessed with them.
Sacral chakra assertion: “I am a creative being with unlimited potential.”
Yoga asanas or practices for relating to this energy centre:
hip-opening poses
forward folds
The second chakras are related to the sexuality of human beings and our emotions. When we gather here, we show who we are real energy and we share mutual gratification and deep pleasure collectively.
3- Manipura (the Naval Chakra)
Manipura (literally means, “city of jewels”) is situated at the centre of the. It is usually portrayed as a downward or upward-facing red triangle, and it’s connected with the fire element. Having a tough and strong inner fire (Agni), it can help us digest not only our food but also our life experiences. Manipura’s role is to maximize our energy so that we can drive or move our lives with force and determination. Manipura gives us the self-confidence we need to practice and eliminate what is not useful to us and does not serve us, and to let it go out.
Navel chakra affirmation: “I am confident, powerful, and I can handle anything.”
Yoga practices for connecting with this energy centre:
core work
twisting poses
When we meet in the third chakra, we meet each other’s energies without competition or jealousy. We respect each other’s preferences in life and support each other to help and stand in our power.
4- Anahata (the Heart Chakra)
Anahata (literally means, “un-struck”) is situated at the centre of the heart. Anahata chakra is classically described as a green star with six-points and surrounded by 12 lotus petals. On a spiritual and holy level, it’s believed to be the home of the higher/infinite, “un-struck” or imperishable self. Anahata is linked with the air element, and with emotional qualities of a person such as love, peace, and openness. Energetically, Anahata chakra helps us capture into unconditional love.
Heart chakra assertion: “Give love to receive love, and be love.”
Yoga asanas for relating to this energy centre:
chest stretches
back bending poses
When we rally in the fourth chakra, we assemble in the heart. This is no “ordinary” love, but unconditional higher love. Love that does not expect with any expectations and that does not wish for anything in return.
5-Vishuddha (the Throat Chakra)
Vishuddha (literally means, “to purify”) is situated close to the bottom of the throat. It is mostly described as a blue downward-facing triangle within a lotus amid 16 purple petals. Vishuddha is connected with the ingredient ether, or “space” (akasha), and with speaking one’s truth. Its energetic role is to help us find genuine self-expression.
Throat chakra statement: “I speak my truth. I live the truth.”
Yoga practices or asanas for connection with the energy centre:
shoulder-stand or variations of shoulder stand
ujjayi breath
expressive, devotional arts such as hymns, dance and kirtan
When we get together in our fifth chakra, the throat, we tell our truth and drastic honesty to each other.
6- Ajna (the Third-Eye Chakra)
Ajna (literally means, “control centre”) is situated between the eyebrows. A see-through lotus with two white petals represents it. it’s considered to be the hold of the mind, of conscious and unconscious awareness. It is not linked with any element, as this chakra is considered “beyond” the bodily elements. It is held to be the centre of intuition, vision, prophecy, imagination, inner knowing, and self-assurance. The active purpose of Ajna chakra is to help us learn to know ourselves: emotionally, mentally, and spiritually.
Third-eye chakra assertions: “I am open, intuitive, and self-assured.”
Yoga asanas or practices for linking with this energy centre:
When we meet in the sixth chakra, the third eye, our lives become the supernatural. Our communication becomes telepathic. We meet God in the dreams and from there we can make all our dreams come true, effortlessly!
7- Sahasrara (the Crown Chakra)
Sahasrara (literally means, “thousand-petaled lotus”) is situated just above the crown of the head. It is believed to be the entrance into pure consciousness, it is generally described as a thousand-petaled lotus with a pinkish aura, and it is not connected with a bodily element (as it too is believed to be beyond the elements). Sahasrara serves as a way of linking to celestial energy and is connected with our highest self. Sahasrara helps us work in a more enlightened way, nurture self-mastery, and find an intellect of relation with all.
Crown chakra assertions: “I surrender to the wisdom of pure consciousness.”
Yoga asanas or practices for linking with energy centre: meditation.
When we meet in the seventh chakra, in the crown, we see God, the Universe or the Divine in each other. Through our association, we dissolve into the source of existence.

Posted in Science.