Looking Back at Obama’s Re-Election Blunder: Obama Called United States ‘A Former Colony’

APTOPIX Obama 2012

President Barack Obama. (AP Photo/Carolyn Kaster)

(CNSNews.com) — In his re-election victory speech, President Barack Obama referred to the United States as a singular “former colony,” when the United States was actually  composed of 13 separate colonies prior to gaining independence from the British.

“Thank you so much. Tonight, more than 200 years after a former colony won the right to determine its own destiny, the task of perfecting our union moves forward,” said Obama, which was the first sentence of his remarks in Chicago, Ill.

Before the United States won its independence from Great Britain in 1781, it was made up of 13 separate colonies, and apparently was not viewed by the British or the Americans as a single colonial entity.

From 1775-1776, the delegates of the Continental Congress worked to establish a consensus for declaring independence from the British Crown, on behalf of the 13 colonies.

The United States of America was viewed as a single country only after the 13 colonies won their independence and formed a new nation.

Source material can be found at this site.

In Case You Missed It:  Sen. Hawley Calls for Investigation Into Officials Favoring Protests While Targeting Religion  
Posted in Tyranny and tagged , , , .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Optionally add an image (JPEG only)


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.